Foray into Felting

The first batch – brushed and embroidered.

Some of the  brushed hearts from yesterday have been strung and embellished and they are fine but I am having more fun playing around with felting.

My first rule of felting is try out a sample first.  When I threw a pile of old swatches into the washing machine I was astounded by the variation in both look and shrinkage.  With this experience as a benchmark I set about redrafting the pattern for felting and really thick yarns.

Re -drafted pattern. Pity it isn’t wool.

I drafted an instant gratification knit – only six cast on stitches.  The heart recipe is below.   Refer back to yesterday’s pattern  about how to execute the wrap and turn and don’t forget about picking up and knitting the wraps to eliminate holes.

  • Cast on 6 using the backward loop method
  • Foundation row: purl to last stitch, make one in last stitch (7 stitches)
  • Row 1:  Make 1,  knit next 4 stitches, wrap and turn (8 stitches)
  • Row 2: Purl to last stitch make 1 (9 stitches)
  • Row 3: Knit 4 wrap and turn (9 stitches)
  • Row 4: Purl (9 stitches)
  • Row 5: Knit 2 together, knit 4 not forgetting to pick up and knit the wrap stitch, wrap and turn (8 stitches)
  • Row 6: Purl 3, purl 2 together (7 stitches)
  • Row 7: Knit 2 together, knit to the end – don’t forget to pick up and knit the wrap stitches. (6 stitches)
  • Row 8: slip first stitch purlwise, purl to last stitch, make 1 (7 stitches)

Knit the cast on and cast off stitches together

Repeat rows 1-8 twice more then rows 1-7 once.  When casting off pick up and knit the backward loops with the cast off stitch to close the side of the heart and save sewing.  Stuff the heart lightly and close the upper edge taking care to sew over any bobbly make stitches – especially those made on knit rows.  I found it useful to stretch the upper edge before closing and worked a line of large chain stitches over the edge (8-9 stitches).  Felt at 40 degrees.  No guarantees about the felting process so work one and try.

Almost a success

Getting the needle and yarn combination right will need a bit of experimentation.  The sample here uses 10mm needles and Bella pencil roving.  However, it has felted a bit more than I would have liked and I have probably used a bit too much stuffing.  It is not far off the look I am hoping to achieve and I am feeling optimistic.

Varying degrees of success. Added silk brushes well. Make sure it is wool. Mohair and roving felt well not fond of beads.

My experiments with a mohair yarn have also shown promise and I am thinking that I might combine it with an inexpensive scratchy Aran  yarn to add bulk – then I can use my instant gratification pattern.  I really do not like the addition of the beads in my first attempt and if I were to add beads I would probably hand sew rather than knitting beads from a threaded strand.  It was tiresome threading onto a separate yarn which snagged on the mohair.  The uneven distribution of beads is in part due to the difficulty controlling both yarns.  Whilst I am not loving the beads I do like the idea of adding some hand sewn woolly embroidery before felting.  So plenty to play around with tomorrow.

About clicknknit

I enjoy knitting small intricate pieces with an interest in promoting wearing our art on craft on our hands. Gloves and mitts are the new socks!
This entry was posted in Felting, Knitspiration, Knitting Patterns, Prototype and Experimental Knitting, Xmas Craft and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Foray into Felting

  1. scifikitten says:

    Aww I desperately wish I could make these but I’m hopeless at knitting! Plus the lingo confuses me. I taught myself to purl but I forget things asap if I don’t use them for a while.

    Lovely post and lovely decorations 🙂

    • clicknknit says:

      Blog post boxed and on its way you – the good and the bad. If you do try the pattern I would appreciate any feedback. When you write these things you assume that everyone can read your mind! Don’t worry about working purl – do it all in knit stitch. Will give a bit of thought to the wrap element. If you don’t like the red and green decoration it is easy to unpick. The trouble with me is that I like the knitting process – not so keen on finishing off when it has not quite worked out as I expected.

      • scifikitten says:

        Did you get my thank you? I sometimes have trouble navigating WordPress so I could have put it in the wrong place! Thank you for sending me those. It has inspired me! 🙂

  2. clicknknit says:

    I did thank you and sorry not to have replied. Busy crafting for the craft fair which thankfully is tomorrow. I loved your idea of recycling woollies into hearts. Will you felt? I look in the charity shops for old woollens but rarely find something made of wool. I thought of you when you said you had only recently mastered purl stitch and on my most recent post I have an all knit stitch heart. You might like to give that a try. I think they could look good in raffia but the whole idea of my recent exploits is to make things without spending extra!

Leave a comment